WHAT IS DVT?

Digital Volume Tomography (DVT for short) is a three-dimensional imaging technique using X-rays. On a circling path, a high number of projection images is generated, which enables the direct calculation of a 3D volume of the body part to be examined. DVT differs from classical computer tomography (CT for short) in the application of a three-dimensional bundle of rays, allowing for the creation of spatial images. Compared to a conventional CT, the radiation is reduced by at least 50%, hence making DVT the gentlest imaging process there is. The instant availability of the image without prior referral to a radiologist facilitates maximum planning security and an immediate diagnostic solution by the doctor.

© SCS GmbH

THE 3D DIAGNOSTICS FOR EXTREMITIES

The 3D diagnostics for extremities enables a quick diagnosis directly at the treatment site. The high-resolution, three-dimensional quality of the image ensures optimal representation of cartilage and joint damage without being covered by overlying structures – even the finest fractures in the extremities become visible. DVT allows for an imaging of the extremities under load. For this purpose, the patient is standing inside the device during recording. The subsequent image of the ankles or knees displays the anatomy under natural strain and thus reveals problems that otherwise would be undetectable, such as a reduced joint space.

© SCS GmbH Abbildung des SCS MedSeries® H22

THE TREATMENT PROCESS

By means of this special X-ray method, cross-sectional images of different body sections with a great level of detail are generated. The examination takes about 20 seconds – afterwards, the images can still be viewed and evaluated during the same appointment. An additional consultation with the radiologist, as well as the additional waiting time in between, is not necessary. The examination itself is simple and comfortable for the patient. Normally, it is carried out while the patient is sitting down, occasionally they will be standing. This means that the method is suitable for wheelchair users. It also proves to be ideal for patients with anxiety and claustrophobia, because there is no narrow tube, just a headrest. The highly realistic image generated from the image data displays a correct anatomical view, making possible to survey changes in a dimensionally accurate way. The exact image of the anatomy can be observed on a monitor from all angles to facilitate its thorough discussion with the patient.

WAS IST DVT?

Die digitale Volumentomographie (kurz DVT) ist ein dreidimensionales bildgebendes Verfahren, das Röntgenstrahlung nutzt. Auf einer umkreisenden Bahn wird eine hohe Anzahl von Projektionsaufnahmen erzeugt, aus welchen unmittelbar ein 3D-Volumen des zu untersuchenden Körperteils berechnet wird. Gegenüber der klassischen Computertomographie (kurz CT) grenzt sich die DVT durch die Verwendung eines dreidimensionalen Strahlenbündels ab, welches die Erstellung räumlicher Aufnahmen ermöglicht. Durch eine Strahlenreduktion von mindestens 50% gegenüber einer konventionellen CT, ist dies die schonendste Art der Bildgebung. Die unmittelbare Verfügbarkeit der Aufnahme ohne Überweisung zu einem Radiologen, gestattet höchste Planungssicherheit und eine sofortige Diagnostiklösung durch den Arzt.

© SCS GmbH

DIE 3D-EXTREMITÄTEN DIAGNOSTIK

Die 3D-Extremitäten Diagnostik ermöglicht eine schnelle Diagnose direkt am Behandlungsort. Die hochauflösende dreidimensionale Bildqualität ermöglicht eine optimale Darstellung von Knorpel und Gelenkschäden ohne überdeckende Strukturen, sodass selbst feinste Brüche in den Extremitäten sichtbar werden. Die DVT ermöglicht die Aufnahmen der Extremitäten unter Belastung. Dafür stellt sich der Patient während der Aufzeichnung in das Gerät. Die daraus entstehende Bildgebung von Fußgelenken oder Knien zeigt die Anatomie bei natürlicher Belastung und kann dadurch Probleme aufzeigen, die ansonsten nicht erkennbar wären, wie etwa ein verringerter Gelenkspalt

© SCS GmbH Abbildung des SCS MedSeries® H22

DER BEHANDLUNGSABLAUF

Das spezielle Röntgenverfahren erstellt Querschnittsbilder verschiedener Körperabschnitte mit höchster Detailgenauigkeit. Die Bilder können noch in der Sprechstunden nach der ca. 20 sekündigen Untersuchung angeschaut und ausgewertet werden. Eine zusätzliche Terminierung beim Radiologen, sowie zusätzliche Wartezeit entfällt. Die Untersuchung selbst ist einfach und für den Patienten angenehm. Im Normalfall wird diese sitzend, gelegentlich auch stehend durchgeführt. Auch die Untersuchung von Rollstuhlfahrern ist kein Problem. Es gibt keine enge Röhre, lediglich eine Kopfstütze, somit ist dieses Verfahren auch für Patienten mit Raum- und Platzangst ideal. Durch die hohe Abbildungstreue der erzeugten Bilddaten entsteht ein korrektes anatomisches Bild, in dem die Veränderungen dimensionsgenau ausgemessen werden können. Auf einem Monitor kann dann das exakte Abbild der Anatomie aus allen Blickwinkeln betrachtet und mit dem Patienten besprochen werden.